Mozy Backup

Last year I wrote about Mozy, the free offsite backup utility.

I’ve now taken the plunge and am paying for the unlimited service for 13 months. It cost $54.45 which isn’t a lot, especially given that I pay in Euros (34.23 at today’s rate) which is a very strong currency against the USD.

However, immediately after I’d signed up I realised I had a problem – Mozy does not back up data from removable disks, and I tend to keep most of my data on a 16 GB Flash drive that I can quickly swap between my PC and my laptop. This is really what I wanted to back up.

A little bit of googling later and I found the answer, make the removable drive look like a fixed disk.

Works like a charm. I’m now beginning my initial 4GB backup that’ll run overnight.

6 thoughts on “Mozy Backup

  1. I’ve been backing up to DVD’s for years. Would hate to lose any of my hard work. I only backup important stuff like code, data, emails, photos and videos taken by myself. But I don’t backup anything like crap that I’ve downloaded from the internet. Still I’d be spewing if my HD died.

    I assume it has some program and only uploads new files or files that have changed etc.. to save on bandwidth? what about files that dont need backing up such as binary files generated by your compiler? those are files that you don’t want being uploaded.

  2. Hi Dez,

    I thought about DVDs but I’m a lazy bastard, especially when I’m busy writing papers (which is exactly when I need my data backed up). Mozy now just does it all for me and I can forget about it unless I need to recover some data.

    At the moment I’m only backing up my source files, though you could configure it to upload anything. I’m also running it at Uni so I don’t really have to worry about bandwidth like I might do with my ISP at home.

  3. I also have a 4GB USB memory stick that I do more regular backups onto say every couple of days or however often I write new code.

    I have a batch file that I run that goes through my projects folder and sub folders and creates a zip file of everything except for file extensions that are in the exclude list such as compiler generated files like .obj, .exe etc… when finished it pops up an explorer folder showing the zip file and I just drag and drop the zip file onto my memory stick. (I learned all this from a guy at my first job)

    Whenever I am out I have my memory stick on me, its almost like my keys now, as the old saying goes, “I don’t leave home without it”

  4. Well since I signed up I’ve had some problems with Mozy.

    At home I get dreadful transfer rates, around 10K/sec which makes it pretty much useless for my initial backup of several GBs. At University it’s more like 90 but in either case I still experience frequent disconnects.

    Also reconfiguring the backup takes a long time as Mozy slowly scans the directories or file types you specify to calculate total size and number of files. I don’t know why this takes so long, perhaps it has a dumb algorithm that doesn’t take advantage of Spotlight.

    Additionally the subscription model restricts you to a single machine unless you pay more (which I won’t) so I have to be a bit sneaky to get around this. It’s annoying, especially so on my Windows XP desktop due to it’s Group Policy restrictions that prevent me from having 100% admin rights even though I’m in the Admin group.

    Mozy on Windows has a restriction that won’t allow backups from removable media like my 16GB Flash Drive, which is principally what I want the service for! However I was able to find a way to mount the Flash drive so that it looks like a Fixed disk. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to find a way to mount my laptop’s drive on my desktop computer, so backups from there would have to be manually transfered via the USB stick.

    I now run Mozy on my OSX laptop, which uses SSL port forwarding to mount a SAMBA share from my Ubuntu desktop (on a different subnet and behind a firewall). That in turn has my XP drives mounted, so I’m able to backup all my resources, OSX HD, USB Flash drive, XP partition and Ubuntu drive.

    Not entirely happy. Ideally I’d like to backup everything from Ubuntu automatically, but there’s no Linux version of Mozy and it doesn’t look like it runs on WINE.

    I haven’t tried out Parallels because WUBI by default installs as 64 bit, which is annoying for lots of Linux apps that require 32 bit architectures. So I’d need to reinstall the 32bit Wubi (or other Ubuntu install), source a disk for a new Windows installation, and plenty of disk space to put it on. That’ll take some time to organise.

  5. I’ve just knocked a script to backup the USB Flash drive to my desktop harddrive too, for an additional and much faster backup method.

    (sorry that WordPress doesn’t display indentation properly as it disallows the pre html)

    /media/16_GB_FLASH/autorun

    #!/bin/bash
    # [GARETH] Runs an auto backup script

    echo "Hello World" > /tmp/helloAuto
    source ./bin/backupFlash

    /media/16_GB_FLASH/autobackup

    Just a flag file to indicate to my autorun script that I do want to backup this device

    /media/16_GB_FLASH/bin/backupFlash

    #!/bin/sh
    # [GARETH] Modified from http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=239830

    if [ -e /media/16_GB_FLASH/autobackup ]; then
    kdialog --yesno "Would you like to backup the flash drive?"
    if [ $? = 0 ]; then
    #echo 'I am' $(whoami)
    backupLogFile=/home/gw43/backup/log-$(date +%Y%m%d).file
    backupDestination=~/backup/archive
    backupSource=/media/16_GB_FLASH/
    backupFlags="-prtEoghlDax --log-file=$backupLogFile --progress --devices --specials"
    touch $backupLogFile
    rsync $backupFlags $backupSource $backupDestination
    CODE=$?

    case $CODE in
    0) kdialog --msgbox "Successfully backed up"
    ;;
    *) kdialog --msgbox "Possible Error: rsync reported a nonzero exit code: $CODE"
    ;;
    esac
    fi
    else
    echo False
    fi

  6. Pingback: Time Machine « Gareth R. White

Leave a Reply

