Hard drive backup, crash and recovery

So my laptop hard drive died (just after I’d finished my MA – thank god it wasn’t before!), probably due to lack of respect I treated it with. I’d often jog with my laptop in a rucksack, and as it’s an Apple PowerBook I almost never turn it off (good battery life, solid OS that doesn’t need to be reset or shutdown frequently like Windows does). Unfortunately this means that I probably bumped the drive head on the platter a lot. Ooops.

It started to make some nasty noises for about a week prior to finally giving up, but stupidly I didn’t take any immediate action. In fact I noticed that if I tilted the machine at certain angles it would work better or worse, so in my impatience to get things done that’s what I relied on. And it worked. For a while.

So I finally got around to buying a new drive (Hitachi Travelstar 0A25015 7K100 100GB ATA6 7200 RPM 8MB Buffer) and have been installing all the old software again, which was pretty quick and easy. As I’d been using a free remote backup tool (Mozy) I was also able to recover my personal files. Mozy gets my thumbs up big time. It’s a total no-brainer, just install and forget about it. When things go bad on your local disk (they will, it’s only a matter of time) you just download all your data again.

I did have a bit of trouble as I initially downloaded my data onto a Windows machine, but for some reason I wasn’t able to decrypt the data using the key from my Mac. Once I’d got my new hard drive installed though I was able to decrypt the data fine, so I’m a happy bunny again!

If I weren’t a poor student I might even pay for the service, but as it is I get 2GB for free, which is actually pretty good. I did lose a load of movies and music which were too big to back up unfortunately.

One thought on “Hard drive backup, crash and recovery

  1. Pingback: Mozy Backup « Gareth R White

Leave a Reply

