Twilight Princess

I just finished the new Zelda game on Wii. It was good, I’d have been happy to have worked on that.

The things I didn’t like include monsters respawning as soon as you leave the room they’re in, all of the carefully timed jumping, and the generaly linearity of play – there’s really only one way to complete each task. I guess the respawning and linearity are Zelda standards (I haven’t played any others from the series), while dexterous jumping’s a common gaming idiom. Too much like a toy game for me, I prefer persistence, emergence and free form more like Oblivion, though that’s just a personal preference.

On the positive side, it was a pretty game, nice music and audio effects, generally well put together and I did find myself playing frequently for several hours at a time, staying up into the early hours approaching dawn. In total I did over 60 hours.

Worth playing.

I’d rate it a 9 out of 10.

My next purchase? WarioWare: Smooth Moves. Quite a different game. You might say that’s about as close to a ‘toy’ game as it gets, but it doesn’t try to be anything different so perhaps that’s why I like it?

Leave a Reply

