It burns when I wii!

My right arm is really sore. I think I have gonowiia.

So clearly I’ve been playing with my Wii since Friday. I only got the bundled Wii Sports, and Wii Play (as it includes an extra contoller). My favourites are probably Billiards on Play, and Tennis on Sports.

Overall I think it’s a decent interface for party games. I never liked previous console interfaces being more of a keyboard and mouse kind of guy. I’m looking forward to getting Zelda so I can see how the Wiimote works in a ‘real’ game.

But immediately I’m giving some serious thought to selling it and doubling my money! Take a look at the auctions on eBay. Seems like a good thing to do, then just buy one again in Jan. I can live without playing for a few weeks, especially as I have 10,000 words worth of essays to write for my MA.

5 thoughts on “It burns when I wii!

  1. I sold a brand new Wii on eBay the day it came out, and I only earned about $80. Considering yours is opened and used, there’s absolutely no point in you trying to sell it on eBay.

  2. Hey Bud,

    I hope that was $80 on top of the price you paid?

    I’ll wait for a few more days to see what happens to the UK market. You’re right about it being opened already, and that definitely makes it harder to sell. There are a lot of people offering unopened Wii’s on eBay, but I’m willing to wait and see what happens in the days as we approach Christmas.

    I guess I could always put on a reserve. If I can make a bit of money then I’ll be happy as I’m a poor student, if not then I’ll be happy because I’m a keen gamer 🙂

  3. So eBay decided to suspend my account before I was able to sell the Wii. No particular reason, they just said they do that from time to time. Cocks.

    The good news is that my family loved playing with my Wii this Christmas. Seriously, they didn’t put it down for a couple of days.

    Here’s eBay explaining why they’re arseholes:

    “Why did we suspend your account?

    From experience we know that certain items and actions are more
    associated with fraudulent activity on eBay than others. As a
    precaution, we suspend an account if it gives us cause for concern. We
    then ask for more information from the member before we reinstate the
    account.

    Please understand we’re not accusing you of fraudulent behaviour. Our
    top priority is to ensure that eBay remains a safe and reputable place
    to buy and sell, so we’d like to confirm some of the information you’ve
    given us.”

  4. By the way, I’m not overly impressed with Zelda. It’s ok and I’m sure I’ll play it to end but I think Wii sports and other party games are going to be what this console’s all about.

    RPG’s and FPS’s are just better with a keyboard and mouse, plus I prefer the Oblivion style of free-form gaming to the strict style of Zelda (stupid precision jumps included).

    I also hate how it doesn’t save the full game state (eg, when you load you start back at the beginning of the level), and how leaving a room resets the monsters in it so when you return they’re all back from the dead.

    I think I’m looking for a less opaque gaming experience, less obviously a toy world, more transparently realistic.

Leave a Reply

