Typing and Violence

I used to love playing The Typing of the Dead (so much so that I learnt to crack Windows software with it: I developed a NoCD crack because it annoyed me having to put the CD in the machine before I could play 🙂 and that’s how I learnt to type too. I bought Mavis Beacon before that but didn’t get into it because it was so dry and boring.

Well now someone’s done a Flash game called QWERTY Warriors which is kind of cute (although damn annoying because it kept occasionally ignoring my Return! I wonder if this is because it’s a Flash game running on a poor little PowerBook G4? Because of that I only got about 34,000 on Hard for my first go.)

Since TToTD was released (and I bought it as soon as it was available in the UK 🙂 I’ve been thinking about the power of games to teach us useful skills. This is one of the angles Serious Games people take, but I believe this is just the tip of the iceberg. It’s a really rich area just waiting to be taken advantage of by someone who can make *fun* games that teach you a useful real-world skill as too.

You don’t happen to know anyone like that, do you?

0 thoughts on “Typing and Violence

  1. Pingback: Half Life 2: Episode 2 HD Trailer « Gareth R White

Leave a Reply

