I am Infinite Monkey Man!

“a monkey hitting keys at random on a typewriter keyboard for an infinite time will almost surely type the collected works of William Shakespeare”

I don’t know if this is a joke, a sign of the end times, or simply an expression of my incredible luck, but check out this letter I just received:

 “28th July 2006

Dear Gareth

Thank you for your application for a student bursary for the MA programme in the School of Cultural Studies. I am please to be able to tell you that your application has been successful and that, therefore, your fees for enrolling on the full-time MA in New Media will be waived.”



When I first read it I just laughed, simply couldn’t believe it. This is worth £3300! The way I look at it, someone has decided to give me three grand based entirely on a few hundred words I wrote late one night. A lot of my ex-Rockstar colleagues are getting jobs abroad which include relocation packages around this value, but those people are going to be earning their companies lots of money. Me? I’m just going to be a student.

If you’re currently living and working in the UK I’d like to thank you for paying your taxes. You’ve just provided me with about three thousand pounds worth of Guinness. Cheers!

Seriously though, I spent ages stuggling with this application, was this close to not even bothering. If it wasn’t for my girlfriend I’d have just forgotten about it. The application notice stated that this bursary was based on academic merit which made me really pesimistic. Still, I spent the day trying to come up with a way to make my paltry professional experience look like some kind of substitute for genuine merit, academic or otherwise. I stayed up all night battling with mental block, phoned Michaela in the morning of the application deadline and she told me to just send it regardless what I thought. Boy, am I glad I did!

Don’t say anything, right, but I guess I owe that money to her.

2 thoughts on “I am Infinite Monkey Man!

  1. Pingback: Being a student rocks! « Gareth R White

Leave a Reply

